Arguing with a Sociologist about Identity: Is it self-imposed or external?

I got into an argument w/ a sociologist about identity at a BBQ. Is it self-imposed or external? I argued for the external being more important.

I reminded him of the power of (others in) “labelling” (one) & (once such labelling is accepted) the importance of self-fulfilling prophecy in bowing to external perceptions (both valid and accepted theories).

I said, after what started as bantering and ended in polite arguing bordering on something more, “It doesn’t matter how much I believe my hair is blond” as I grasped my black hair. “Believing it’s blond doesn’t change its color any more than it changes how people see it and react to it”.

Therefore, people will continue to treat me according to what THEY see (along with evoking their preconceptions) and not according to what I believe (and my preconceptions about myself).

Perhaps it would have driven the point further if  I had used skin color instead of hair color in my example, but I don’t need a PhD to identify idiocy when I see it.

I think I proved my point.

Maurice Cepeda

All rights reserved on the article, defined as the text and any original material and medium –including photographs when specifically mentioned in at least one of the following corresponding elements: caption, alternate text, or title. Quoted texts, and other material not copyrighted by Maurice Cepeda, are used under the concept of fair use and are the properties of their respective owners –including photographs, audio recordings, videos, or any other products in any form or fashion– as are all brands mentioned. If copyrighted videos and/or audio recordings should make themselves into articles, note that they are not hosted herein; if you are the copyright holder of any such material (and have a problem with fair use), approach the appropriate hosting site. Note that any audio or visual material incorporated under fair use, either hosted locally or otherwise, will most likely be of lesser quality, thus, “fair use”. By reading this article, the reader forgoes any accountability of the writer. The reading of this article implies acceptance of the above stipulations.

One thought on “Arguing with a Sociologist about Identity: Is it self-imposed or external?

Leave a comment