Scribus/Aqua Templates

June 17, 2006
I promised a friend to help her with a pamphlet for her grandfather’s restaurant. I noticed that the default Scribus/Aqua came with few templates, but I found two template files searching through the Scribus site. One is called scribus-temp-all-1.2.1.tar.bz2 and the other, scribus-temp-all-1.2.tar.bz2. [Tiger’s de-compressor (BOMArchiveHelper) doesn’t open the file. Use OpenUp.]

  1. Download them, use ¨OpenUp¨ to uncompress the templates.
  2. Upon finding the install instructions failed, I asked in irc (#scribus on freenode) and was told to point the app. preferences to the template location. Rather than doing this, and remembering that OS X apps are usually self-contained I looked for a templates folder within the Scribus app.. I found it in (Cntrl-click):
    “Show package contents”>>Contents >>share>>scribus>>templates
  3. I then made a backup of this folder via finder.
  4. I dragged & dropped templates into the previously mentioned path (mentioned in step .2). You can even do this while Scribus is running, although I don’t recommend it.

If I recall, there were a few templates in scribus-temp-all-1.2.tar.bz2 that were not in scribus-temp-all-1.2.1.tar.bz2 so I mixed and matched them keeping preference for the 1.2.1. duplicates (as these are more recent), and copied this mixed batch to the templates folder within the Scribus app.. [There also a few duplicate templates within the app. and those your newly made master source. Use “command info” to get creation and last updated info. I opted for the most recent ones.]

Open a document from templates, and look at the new template options available.

You’re done.
Enjoy.

Maurice Cepeda

Last Updated: January 30, 2007

This is licensed under the Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported Creative Commons License. All brands mentioned are properties of their respective owners. By reading this article, the reader forgoes any accountability of the writer. The reading of this article implies acceptance of the above stipulations. The author requires attribution –by full name and URL– and notification of republications.

This article may be outdated and of historical value.

