Printer Trouble-Shooting

I’ve noticed some people have problems printing. Rather than resorting to changing permissions, or other ‘drastic’ acts, I thought I’d share my trouble shooting techniques (which I’ve previously posted on a forum). This article assumes you can configure a printer in gnome-cups-manager or kprint.

Printer Configuration
“I’ve never had to change permissions to get a printer to show up in the printer utility. To get it to show [during printer configuration], I’ve turned the printer on and left it on while I rebooted the computer. Then run gnome-cups-manager and it’ll show up. Then configure. You might have to try different drivers. Try them all and keep notes on the ones that work. When one driver refuses to work, try another driver (from your working list). The other thing you can try is running ‘/etc/init.d//cupsys/ restart’ (also ‘ …. stop’, then ‘ … start’, perhaps as su) if cups server has crashed. Use this ONLY as a last resort as I’ve never had to do this on Ubuntu.”

Post Printer Configuration
” … when I print to a printer that is powered off … T[t]he print job gets queued but stalls (because my printer was off when I evoked the print job) thus not letting any other further print jobs to print. Powering the printer on immediately on AFTER evoking the print job does NOT work. This scenario may look as if cupsys has crashed but it hasn’t. The solution for me is to delete that print job using the appropriate gnome utility and then powercycling the printer. But when powering the printer up, power it up withOUT the usb cable inserted, count to 5, then insert the USB cable, count to 5. Then try to print.”

Indeed, have your printer powered on when initiating a print job. If you do and it doesn’t work, then try the power cycling solution before anything else.

Hope this helps,

Maurice Cepeda
a.k.a. Chascon


This is licensed under the Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported Creative Commons License. All brands mentioned are properties of their respective owners. By reading this article, the reader forgoes any accountability of the writer. The reading of this article implies acceptance of the above stipulations. The author requires attribution –by full name and URL– and notification of republications.

This article may be outdated and of historical value.

