Fax on a 400 MHz iMac DV

I used to fax a lot with Apple’s OSes, so this was an important feature to duplicate if I were to use Gnu-Linux. I’m happy to say that I have been successful. I knew that this should be possible because my modem is a hardware modem, as opposed to a ‘winmodem’ (or is the correct term ‘macmodem’?). How did I know it was a hard modem? I’m not sure. Maybe it’s because I recalled related old models have hard modems, and my iMac DV is old.

On Hoary, this is what I did to install the app:

sudo apt-get install efax-gtk

I came across three problems. These were fairly easy to diagnose.

First off, you should identify the modem:

dmesg | grep modem

That gave me:

ttyS0

Thus, ‘ttyS0’ is my modem.

As I couldn’t find efax-gtk in the xfce4 gui sub-contextuals, I passed “efax-gtk” in term:

efax-gtk

Caveats
I found three caveats, and the following addresses them.

Problem One:
Modem was not selected.
Solution:

efax-gtk &

and go into

Mode -> Serial Device -> and change ttyS1
to match “dmesg | grep modem” output (‘ttyS0’ in my case).

Problem Two:
Phone number syntax problem.

Solution
Make sure you do NOT put dashes (only spaces) in your ‘return’ fax number, and use an area code. ie.,
XXX XXX XXXX

Problem Three:
Faxed sheet gets cut off on the sides.

Solution
Set the paper size to “A4” rather than the presumably correct “letter size” (under ‘file -> settings –> page’); We don’t use anything other than “letter size” around here, but “A4” oddly fixes the paper size issue. (“A4” should give a longer but thiner page than the letter size (8.5 x 11) [Note: “A4” is 8.27 x 11.69.])

Running the program
When running the app, it has a console that gives you a play by play of the fax. Red lettering is ‘bad’ and this will give you a clue to any problems. It’ll also tell you if the fax delivery was successful.

Maurice Cepeda
a.k.a. Chascon

This is licensed under the Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported Creative Commons License. All brands mentioned are properties of their respective owners. By reading this article, the reader forgoes any accountability of the writer. The reading of this article implies acceptance of the above stipulations. The author requires attribution –by full name and URL– and notification of republications.


This article may be outdated and of historical value.

